Advertising That Creeps Me Out

Okay so earlier I was surfing along and in a stream of consciousness sort of way I ended up on art.com looking at Kandinsky prints I liked.  I added one to my Amazon wish list (through Amazon’s Miracle on 34th Street style bookmarklet) and considered the digression done.

Now, several hours later, I’m doing some more surfing, again in a totally stream of consciousness sort of way, and I end up on a site that had nothing to do with anything else I’ve been doing today and I notice that the side banner ad not only is for art.com (okay, not that big of deal) but that it’s also showing me a list of the prints I was browsing while on art.com earlier today.  I know that it’s simply using the cookies already on my browser from my earlier surfing, but really?  This was a sort of a WTF kinda moment.

So how far is too far when it comes to personalizing ads?  I think scraping my cookies history to display the exact products I already browsed is going a little too far.

Author: taupecat

Founder & Principal of Taupecat Studios. WordPress Developer & Front-End Architect. Instructor at General Assembly. WordPress core contributor. Speaker. Skier.

Leave a Reply

